September 3-5, 2014, Amalfi, Italy.

Call for Papers

(6KB) (92KB)
Scope The Ninth Conference on Security and Cryptography for Networks (SCN 2014) aims at bringing together researchers in the field of cryptography and information security, practitioners, developers, and users to foster cooperation, exchange techniques, tools, experiences and ideas. The conference seeks submissions from academia, government, and industry presenting novel research on all practical and theoretical aspects of cryptography and information security. The primary focus is on original, high quality, unpublished research of theoretical and practical impact, including concepts, techniques, applications and practical experiences. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference/workshop with proceedings. Topics All topic areas related to cryptography and information security are of interest and in scope. Suggested topics include but are not restricted to:
  • Anonymity and Privacy
  • Applied Cryptography and Implementations
  • Authentication, Identification and Access Control
  • Block and Stream Ciphers
  • Complexity-Theoretic Cryptography
  • Cloud Computing Security
  • Cryptanalysis
  • Cryptographic Hash Functions
  • Cryptographic and Security Protocols
  • Digital Signatures and Message Authentication Codes
  • Distributed Systems Security
  • Formal Security Methods
  • Information-Theoretic Security
  • Network, Web and Wireless Security
  • Public-Key Encryption
  • Physical Cryptography
  • Security Architectures and Models
  • Software and Systems Security
Submissions Authors are invited to submit electronically (PDF format) a non-anonymous extended abstract. The extended abstract should be typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a single-column, single-space (between lines) format reasonable margins all around. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees. The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names, affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short abstract. The length of the submission should be at most 14 pages excluding the title page, bibliography and appendices. The extended abstract should clearly indicate the results achieved, their significance, and their relation to other work in the area. Referees are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to a journal or to any other conference or workshop with proceedings. Best Paper Award All submissions are eligible for the Best Paper award. The committee may decide to split the award between multiple papers, or to decline to make an award. Presentation

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.


Proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.


This event is organized in cooperation with the International Association for Cryptologic Research.

Dates and Deadlines

Submission: April 15, 2014, 04:59 UTC April 21, 2014, 23:59 PST (firm deadline)
Notification to authors: June 9, 2014
Camera-Ready Version: June 23, 2014
Early Registration: July 15, 2014
Late Registration: August 24, 2014
Conference: September 3-5, 2014

Program Chair

Michel Abdalla, ENS Paris, France

Program Committee Masayuki Abe, NTT, Japan
Giuseppe Ateniese, Rome University, Italy
Nuttapong Attrapadung, AIST, Japan
Olivier Blazy, Ruhr-University Bochum (RUB), Germany
Carlo Blundo, Università di Salerno, Italy
Elette Boyle, Technion, Israel
Jean-S├ębastien Coron, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Stefan Dziembowski, University of Warsaw, Poland
Dario Fiore, IMDEA, Spain
Marc Fischlin, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Pierre-Alain Fouque, University of Rennes, France
Brett Hemenway, UPenn, USA
Stanislaw Jarecki, UCI, USA
Gaëtan Leurent, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Daniele Micciancio, UCSD, USA
Michael Naehrig, Microsoft Research, USA
Adam O'Neill, Georgetown University, USA
Claudio Orlandi, Aarhus University, Denmark
Carles Padro, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Christopher Peikert, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Giuseppe Persiano, Università di Salerno, Italy
Thomas Peyrin, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Emmanuel Prouff, ANSSI, France
Christian Rechberger, DTU, Denmark
Vincent Rijmen, K.U.Leuven, Belgium
Christian Schaffner, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Thomas Shrimpton, Portland State University, USA
Francois-Xavier Standaert, UCL, Belgium
Stefano Tessaro, UCSB, USA
Mehdi Tibouchi, NTT, Japan
Damien Vergnaud, ENS, France
Ivan Visconti, University of Salerno, Italy
Bogdan Warinschi, University of Bristol, UK General Chair Roberto De Prisco, University of Salerno, Italy
Local Organization Luigi Catuogno, University of Salerno, Italy
Aniello Castiglione, University of Salerno, Italy
Paolo D'Arco, University of Salerno, Italy
Steering Committee Carlo Blundo, Università di Salerno, Italy
Alfredo De Santis, Università di Salerno, Italy
Ueli Maurer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Rafail Ostrovsky, University of California - Los Angeles, USA
Giuseppe Persiano, Università di Salerno, Italy
Jacques Stern, ENS Paris, France
Douglas Stinson, University of Waterloo, Canada
Gene Tsudik, University of California - Irvine, USA
Moti Yung, Google, USA